About Our Keene NH Hotel
Originally constructed in 1891 by Elisha F. Lane, The new Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, formerly The Lane Hotel, is now a downtown Keene NH landmark and officially a Historic Hotel of America. The building’s first 100 years served as home to Goodnow Department Store until it closed in 1995. Meticulous care and considerable design transformed the building to the majestic structure of the E.F. Lane Hotel that first opened in 2001. High-ceilings and exposed brick walls are just some distinctive features that showcase the urban appeal of this downtown hotel. Charm is evident throughout the hotel, such as in the select two-level suites that include cozy sitting rooms and the eclectic street-level lobby that looks out upon Keene NH’s vibrant Central Square.
In 2010, the hotel changed owners and was placed under the management of Colwen Hotel Management of Portsmouth, NH. Changes to the hotel included renovations exceeding one million dollars, including lifting the interior design elements to a new level and making structural and operational improvements and enhancements. In April 2011, a refreshed lobby added a brand new bar and welcoming fireplace – making this a quintessential boutique hotel and the centerpiece of downtown Keene’s rejuvenation. After extensive renovations – all maintaining the historical beauty of this unique hotel - and an adjustment to the name, The Lane Hotel re-opened on May 5, 2011 and is now a member of the Historic Hotels of America. In March 2015, The Lane Hotel converted to the Farifield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown.
Still the only hotel on Main Street in beautiful downtown Keene, New Hampshire, the building’s long-standing traditions and history on Main Street's E.F. Lane Block thrive today, welcoming travelers from near and far.